Volta Presbytery

[column width=”1/1″ last=”true” title=”” title_type=”single” animation=”none” implicit=”true”]

The Volta Presbytery of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana was erected on Sunday the 4th of July 1993 . It was part of the then Akuapem-Volta Presbytery.

It became necessary to separate the two because of the vastness of the area and to facilitate effective management of the area.

The Presbytery comprises the Asuogyaman District of the Eastern Region and the entire Volta Region minus the Tongu area.

There are seven pastoral Districts in the presbytery namely, Anum, Akosombo, Akwamufie, Boso, Bodada, Nyonya and Okadjakrom Districts. The Presbytery covers a vast area and to facilitate effective work we have created four sub districts. They are Ho, Dodi Papase, Dambai and Kete krachi.

The total Christian community of is 12,750 There are twenty Ministers working in the Presbytery with a Regional manager of Schools based in Ho.

The Presbytery has 60 Catechists out of which only 22 are trained. There are many Presbyterian Basic Schools and one Senior Secondary in the Presbytery. The Presbyterian Church of Ghana is young in the Volta Region.

This came about because of the gentle man agreement that was made between the Basel Mission and the Breman Mission in the early twentieth century.

Then Basel mission ceded all their Properties and mission stations in the then Trans Volta Togo land which is now the Volta Region to the Breman Mission.

The Evangelical Presbyterian Church that resulted from the work of the Bremen Mission inherited this agreement and had monopoly in the area. For more on Volta presbytery click on this link www.pcgvoltapresbytery.com